In the Year 1997, We Had Our First Date On Pearl Harbor Day. Two Dates that Will Live on in Infamy.

I have told this story every year for quite some time. Honestly, it gets better every year I tell the story. You see, it is one of adversity, and most of all it is a love story. It is about the fate that brought two people together. In the beginning, it was awkward and not a picture that looked like a love story. Sit down with your favorite beverage and listen to the beginning of a wonderful love story.

I was a single mom. Living on a very limited budget, and relieved to be out of a very abusive marriage. I was finding out who I was and I was beginning to love who I was becoming. I was not interested in finding love but I was interested in embracing love and creating happiness for myself and for my two children.

I had a wonderful support system with other single moms who were in similar situations. We looked out for one another, this included in the area of romance. We promised ourselves and each other to not let any of us get into a bad situation. We had already had enough heartache to last a lifetime.

This fun group of moms would go to the local country bar and we would learn how to line dance, two-step, three-step, and learn how to have a good time. On June 6, D-Day, we all went out to dance and have a good time. I was decked from head to toe in western wear. Emerald green boots, matching Roper Jeans and even some fun cowboy boot earrings. I was ready for some country dancing!

I looked over and there was the most handsome, tall, blonde man I had ever laid eyes on! I am not sure what possessed me. I had not had any alcohol to drink, but I felt compelled to ask this tall drink of water to dance. That is just what I did! That particular night, a vintage rock band played old rock and roll. It was a lot of fun, but not line dancing for sure. We danced for a while. I had asked what he did for a living. He said he was a construction contractor and had his own business. I asked him the name of his business and he replied, “Imagine Construction because if you can imagine it, I can build it.” This has come in handy a lot through the years! He built our house and other outbuildings on our 7 acres. The night was coming to a close and he asked me if he could call me. Back in 1997, you used a phone book. I was scared to death of giving anyone my phone number! So, I gave him my maiden name (my divorced name was in the phone book, so I knew he would never find my number). I cried all the way home. Something in my heart knew that this tall handsome man was more than just a guy at the bar that I danced with.

I met up with my husband again in November. It just so happened that he was doing some remodeling in the office building that I worked in. Somehow, he always needed to use my phone. We then ran into each other at the bar that we originally met at. He told me he tried to find me in the phone book but no listing. I took a pen from the bartender and wrote my number on his hand. I guess as they say, the rest is history!

December 7 was the date we set to meet at a local restaurant. I should have canceled as I had an awful cold, but I was so nervous I decided that I just needed to get this over with. We had a nice dinner, he had a lot of drinks. When the dinner was over, he suggested we go to another well-known bar, but he wanted me to drive as his truck was having some issues. I reluctantly showed him the way to my car and off we went. Same thing, different venue, he had a lot to drink and of course I did not have any to drink as I was taking medicine for my cold. Through the whole thing, I scolded myself for having gone out with someone. I just knew this was not going in a good direction. I was so happy when the night came to an end. I got my date back to his truck. He leaned in my open window and said, “I had a lot of fun, we will have to do this again soon.” NOPE no thank you, I said goodbye, and off I went. I promised one of my single mom friends that I would call and report. I told her it was the worst possible date ever! She told me to slow down and not be so judgy about the whole thing. After all, he was a bachelor in a small town compared to Las Vegas that he came from, so maybe give it one more try. Well, the rest is history!

December 7, 2021, we are celebrating 25 years of the anniversary of our first date. We have two grown kids who have given us a lot of joy. We have 7 acres, chickens, a fruit orchard, two beloved dogs, and a lifetime of happiness. So much has changed in those 25 years, but one thing has never changed, the tall, handsome, blonde man I call my husband, had a positive effect on me from the very first time I saw him at that country bar. Just like his favorite band The Beatles, All You Need is Love!

Leave a comment