Having an Acreage During COVID 19 Is A Blessing!

We are living in some scary times! I know that I have said this over and over since the emergence of COVID 19 became real! I am scared about so many things. I am scared that someone near me will die from this. I am scared my family will be affected either health wise, financial wise or a whole other ton of what if’s. I worry about my daughter who is a CNA. I worry about my son who works at a retail store in Cheyenne WY. I worry about my husband who has heart issues. The list goes on and on. One thing that is a joy, Sunset! It is still there, ready for the soil to be used for plants, ready for the blossoms to fill the fruit trees. Ready for us to be good stewards.


Planting seedlings this past Saturday was joyful and hopeful all wrapped into one. I always look forward to planting, this year added a layer of feelings. Feelings of this being critical for survival. What? No longer a hobby, but critical. Through the mindfulness of planting the seeds, I warded off feelings that we don’t have enough. What if this is our only food, is this enough? Can we go to a store and find more seeds? Should I order seeds? All of this but as I poked the seeds into the soil, I reminded myself that we are going to be ok.

Mother Nature will begin to warm the earth. Blossoms will adorn the fruit trees. Our baby chickens will mature and give us eggs. The earth will be on its axis again and we will survive.

If you don’t have a garden plot, think about starting just one outdoor pot with a tomato plant. You won’t be sorry! It is so peaceful to watch a plant grow with your care and love. There is something amazing about getting your hands deep into the dirt and out of that dirt a plant comes and graces your table with something delicious to eat.

During this time, make the most of the pause we are taking. Plant a seed, play a board game and reach out to someone you have not talked to in a really long time. This too shall pass!  So many lessons come from times of challenge and strife. What are you learning? We should learn something new everyday!

While this is a small something, I really do hope that all of us will stay healthy and peacefulduring this challenging time. Best wishes from our home to yours.

May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind be always at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face;

the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,

may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Leave a comment